Earnings Limit Action Alert

From: Mike Freeman (mikef@pacifier.com)
Date: Fri Dec 01 1995 - 22:36:40 PST

Forwarded message:
Date: Fri, 1 Dec 1995 16:58:04 -0500 (EST)
From: Jim Gashel <jgashel@blazie.com>

                   EARNINGS LIMIT ACTION ALERT FROM: James Gashel
  RE: Floor amendment next week--support needed now!!
     The earnings limit bill is expected to be on the House floor next
week, probably Wednesday or Thursday. The bill and the issue concerning
the linkage-retention amendment will probably go to the Rules Committee on
Tuesday--possibly as early as Monday. All members of the House should be
contacted by as many people, and in as many ways, as possible. Faxing
should go forward over the weekend. Calling should be done next week.
     Here is the message: support a linkage-retention for blind persons
amendment. Don't support a bill which will let retired people work but
sacrifice work incentives for the blind.
     A list of announced House supporters for linkage follows. These are
our friends. They should be contacted and alerted to the absolute need
for their "yes" vote. All other members should also be contacted as well.
To those who say they support linkage, but not on this bill, tell them
that this bill breaks the link between blind people and seniors. Once the
link is broken their support will very likely be of little value.
     Senate action, possibly in the Finance committee, may occur next
week, as well. While we should concentrate on the House, contacts of a
similar nature and volume should commence with Senators. Stand by for
more information later about the specific action in the Senate.
Meanwhile, let's all work together to pull out a victory in the House and
do the groundwork in the Senate.
     Thanks to all.
REPUBLICANS: Richard H. Baker LA Bill Barrett NE Doug Bereuter NE
Sherwood Boehlert NY Richard M. Burr NC Steve Chabot OH Helen Chenoweth ID
Jay Dickey AR Jennifer Dunn WA Robert Ehrlich MD Bill Emerson MO Jon D.
Fox PA Wayne T. Gilchrest MD Paul E. Gillmor OH Benjamin A. Gilman NY
Lindsey Graham SC Steve Gunderson WI Gil Gutknecht MN James V. Hansen UT
Richard (Doc) Hastings WA J. D. Hayworth AZ Martin R. Hoke OH Tim
Hutchinson AR Bob Inglis SC Nancy L. Johnson CT Sue W. Kelly NY Peter T.
King NY Ray LaHood IL Tom Latham IA Steven C. LaTourette OH Greg Laughlin
TX Jim Leach IA Jim Ross Lightfoot IA James B. Longley ME Bill Martini NJ
Jack Metcalf WA Jan Meyers KS Susan Molinari NY Constance A. Morella MD
George Nethercutt WA Bob Ney OH Ron Packard CA Tom Petri WI Deborah Pryce
OH George P. Radanovich CA Ralph Regula OH Pat Roberts KS F. James
Sensenbrenner WI Christopher Shays CT Joe Skeen NM Linda Smith WA Floyd D.
Spence SC Cliff Stearns FL Bob Stump AZ Peter G. Torkildsen MA Enid Greene
Waldholtz UT James T. Walsh NY Don Young AK Dick Zimmer NJ DEMOCRATS Neil
Abercrombie HI Gary L. Ackerman NY Robert E. Andrews NJ Scotty Baesler KY
John Baldacci ME Thomas M. Barrett WI Tom Bevill AL Sanford D. Bishop GA
Ken Bentsen TX Robert A. Borski PA Rick Boucher VA Bill Brewster OK
Corrine Brown FL George E. Brown CA Sherrod Brown OH John Bryant TX Eva
Clayton NC James E. Clyburn SC Cardiss Collins IL William J. Coyne PA
Nathan Deal GA Peter A. DeFazio OR Rosa DeLauro CT Ronald V. Dellums CA
Peter Deutsch FL Norm Dicks WA Julian C. Dixon CA Richard J. Durbin IL
Chet Edwards TX Eliot L. Engel NY Anna G. Eshoo CA Sam Farr CA Chaka
Fattah PA Vic Fazio CA Cleo Fields LA Bob Filner CA Thomas M. Foglietta PA
Barney Frank MA Martin Frost TX Elizabeth Furse OR Sam Gejdenson CT Gene
Green TX Luis V. Gutierrez IL Tony P. Hall OH Alcee L. Hastings FL Jimmy
Hayes LA W. G. (Bill) Hefner NC Maurice D. Hinchey NY Andrew Jacobs IN
William J. Jefferson LA Tim Johnson SD Marcy Kaptur OH Patrick J. Kennedy
RI Barbara B. Kennelly CT Dale E. Kildee MI Gerald D. Kleczka WI Tom
Lantos CA Sander M. Levin MI John Lewis GA William O. Lipinski IL Zoe
Lofgren CA William P. (Bill) Luther MN Thomas J. Manton NY Matthew G.
Martinez CA Frank R. Mascara PA Jim McDermott WA Cynthia A. McKinney GA
Carrie P. Meek FL Robert Menendez NJ George Miller CA Norman Y. Mineta CA
David Minge MN Alan B. Mollohan WV Joe Moakley MA G. V. (Sonny) Montgomery
MS James P. Moran VA John P. Murtha PA Jerrold Nadler NY Richard E. Neal
MA James L. Oberstar MN John W. Olver MA Bill Orton UT Frank Pallone NJ
Mike Parker MS Ed Pastor AZ Donald M. Payne NJ L. F. Payne VA Collin C.
Peterson MN Nick J. Rahall WV Charles B. Rangel NY Jack Reed RI Mel
Reynolds IL Bill Richardson NM Lynn Nancy Rivers MI Charlie Rose NC
Lucille Roybal-Allard CA Tom Sawyer OH Patricia Schroeder CO Charles E.
Schumer NY Robert C. Scott VA Jose E. Serrano NY Ike Skelton MO John M.
Spratt SC Louis Stokes OH Gerry E. Studds MA Bart Stupak MI John Tanner TN
Gene Taylor MS Frank Tejeda TX Bennie Thompson MS Esteban E. Torres CA
Edolphus Towns NY James A. Traficant OH Robert Anacletus Underwood GU
Nydia M. Velazquez NY Bruce F. Vento MN Harold L. Volkmer MO Mike Ward KY
Melvin Watt NC Henry A. Waxman CA Pat Williams MT Charles Wilson TX Bob
Wise WV Lynn Woolsey CA Ron Wyden OR Sidney R. Yates IL

This archive was generated by hypermail 2b29 : Sat Mar 02 2002 - 01:40:22 PST